Blogia
Buenos Aires Jaque Press, en inglés y español

Natalia Santa Cruz: "Designing is fantastic and I love it!"

Natalia Santa Cruz: "Designing is fantastic and I love it!"

It’s hot and muggy in Buenos Aires, as people scramble to and fro doing what they always do as Christmas and the New Year linger around the corner. The most daring men sport baggy shorts and cover their faces with king sized colored glasses; women use powerful perfume and fit themselves out in flowing dresses, although some still are mad about tight fitting jeans. Wondering what’s doing in the fashion world, Jaquematepress had a chat with a charming young fashion designer with sparkling dark hair and eyes to match, who thinks Argentina is a bit off the beaten track as far as designing goes.

 Natalia Santa Cruz lives in Barracas, a typical neighborhood about ten minutes from downtown B.A. Her eyes seem to dance the tango when she mentions fashion, but she swears tango is not on her priority list!

 Hello Natalia! May I ask you a few questions?

 “Go ahead!”

 “Well, let’s see, why did you decide to go into designing?

 “My interest in the designing career goes back to my childhood.”

 “That long ago! When you were a kid did you play ‘designer’ with your friends?”

 “No. Not exactly, although when I was a child my grandmother taught me to sew clothes for my dolls. She worked for a clothing factory and so had cloth and a sewing machine at her home.”

 “That’s logical. Let’s turn back time for a minute to when you were deciding what to do in life. Do you still think you made the right decision?”

 “It’s sad but I think I would have chosen another career. Designing is fantastic and I love it! But to tell the truth it is quite difficult to progress doing designing in Argentina.

 

“If not a designer, what would you like to be?”

 

I would prefer to study marketing. I think that would give me a lot more possibilities.”

 

“So you are not very positive about the profession of designing in this country.”

 

“The thing is designing here isn’t recognized. Few people even realize it exists and so it is not very well developed.”

 

“I see. I imagine you have visited some of the cities famous for their fashioned clothes.”

 

“No, I haven’t yet had the opportunity, although some day I hope to travel abroad. People say the fashion cities are amazing, not only for their dedication to fashion but likewise due to the rich historical heritage in those places.”

 

If you could live in some country in Europe, say, Spain, Italy or France, do you think that your life would be different?”

 

“Oh yes indeed, because abroad there are many more opportunities for fashion designers than in Argentina.”

 

“What do you feel when you go to buy clothes? Do you like to shop?”

 

Yes I do! I love going to shoppings! And when I have money I spend it buying clothes!”

 

“Hmm! Tell me: what do you find most interesting about a store?”

 

What I like most is urban clothing, but not always. It depends on what I am looking for.”

 

“I bet you care a lot for the quality of the clothes you buy!”

 

“At present the quality of the clothes you see on display is not very good. Perhaps that’s because people are looking for cheap clothes.“

 

“Perhaps due to the financial crisis. Hmm. Where do you buy your clothes?”

 

“Generally at the same stores. I haven’t got a special place, although I like the shoppings because there you can find all of the brand leaders and, sometimes, not always, better quality. But I like going to the fairs too. You  I can find original clothes there. And the prices are usually cheaper.”

 

“Do you have a favorite designer?”

 

My favorite designer is Armany, because of his minimalist style. And my favorite Argentine brand is Akiabara. The style is minimalist too and the choice of good quality cloth characterizes the collection.”

 

“Were you to have the opportunity to change things in Argentina so fashion could prosper, what would you do”?

 

“If I were teaching in the University I would change the Study plan, change some subjects and try to get the students to increase their practical knowledge in workshops.”

 

What fashion activities do you practice?”

 

“I buy and read magazines, go to fashion parades, and look for tendencies in internet.”

 

“Are you now working in fashion?”

 

“No, I worked in fashion for 4 years but then gave up and now I’m working in a Bank, where I got a better paying job. In Argentina this profession isn’t well paid.”

 

Would you like to go back to designing?“

 

“Yes! Obviously! I dream about being a famous designer! I love my profession and I had have had the vocation since I was a teenager!”

 

“What is the future for designing in Argentina?”

 

“It isn’t very promising. People think about fashion when they see famous designers on television. But when they go to the fair designer, they think they are bohemians or mere craftsmen. Many people don’t even know that designing is a profession for which you must study subjects such as marketing, sociology , psychology, history, communication…as you can see, it is a very complete career.”

 

Often, there are difficulties related to the sizes of design clothing. What is your opinion about that?”

 

Those buyers who need specially sizes frequently can’t find them, because the brand leaders only produce standard sizes.”

 

How do you imagine yourself in ten years?

 

“I hope to have my own leading brand of clothing. Insofar as my  personal life is concerned,  I hope to form a family. With these two things, I’d feel quite satisfied!”

 

How can people interested in your design activities get in touch with you?”

 

“They can call me at 155 528 6212 or write:       E- mail: natiabril@yahoo.com.ar

 

 

 

 



0 comentarios