Blogia
Buenos Aires Jaque Press, en inglés y español

Are you one of those 45 million who thought you were going to get medical insurance? (A fictionalized version of reality)

Pancho Rivero, an immigrant who had recently lost his job in New Jersey, called his friend, George, his voice quivering.

"Don’t know what I’m going to do" he muttered into the microphone of his mobile phone. "I think I’ve got a heart condition."

"Terrible. That’s terrible news," agreed George.

"Yea and I can’t pay the doctor’s fees."

"That’s true. They make mince meat out of your pockets. Don’t you have medical insurance?"

"You mean Obama’s medical care packet? It doesn’t come into effect until 2014. Do you think I can wait that long?"

"Well, no, I guess not. But there must be something you can do."

"Furthermore, the Republicans are trying to give the business back to the private insurance companies and there’s this judge..."

"Yea. I think I know who you mean, ah, Federal Judge Henry Hudson, who thinks the legislation Obama got Congress to approve is illegal."

"Funny isn’t it. We are supposed to be the richest country in the world, yet we are 14th in ranking so far as medical care goes. And that law was aimed at helping 45 million with no medical insurance at all...

"Just think of that! Then with unemployment and all they say there are around 3,000 more who lose their medical coverage..."

"Imagine what would happen if I were to go to a hospital and say: "doctor, please help me I think I am about to have a stroke."

"Wouldn’t they take care of you?"

"If I paid them on the spot."

"Woh! What if you didn’t have the bread?"

"That’s my point: what if I don’t have enough money to pay for my hospitalization?"

Before he could answer that, Pancho Rivero’s phone went dead.

0 comentarios