Blogia
Buenos Aires Jaque Press, en inglés y español

An interview with love

An interview with love

I left my office in a determined mood. This was going to be my big day, a scoop was out there waiting for me, lingering in the distance, just waiting for the first question. I tucked in my shirt, checked to see if my wallet was still in place, my digital memory set, took a deep breath and turned the corner as if I really knew what I was about.

      She was there, waiting, in all of her uncanny beauty.

      "Hi!" I ventured.

      "You look a bit under the weather. What’s wrong?"

      "Nothing, I mean, no, nothing...it’s just, well, what about doing an interview?"

      "With whom?"

      "With me."

      "Who are you?"

      "Does that matter?"

      "That depends..."

      "On what? Let’s get to the point: Are you in love?"

      "Don’t you think it’s a bit inappropriate to jump right into the thick of things?"

      "I’m like that. I don’t like beating about the bush."

      "I agree but some things take time, you have to use your sense of timing, not everything can be answered with blunt questions, especially if we are taling about love. Love is a force that is everywhere and yet it appears and disappears at the most unexpected moments. Yes. I am in love."

      "With whom?"

      "Do I have to answer that?"

      "No, but it just seems to me that someone like you, so beautiful, so relaxed, so predisposed...it just seemed to me...I saw you and thought: ’there’s the encarnation of love.’"

       "I am love. I am in love with love. I love to love. Love is what grows. It keeps the stars in place, makes flowers grow, causes your skin to prickle with delight. Love is a smile, a tender kiss, love is creation."

       "Please don’t mistake me...I think I’m falling in love..."

       "Is that why you requested this interview? To say you were in love with me?"

       "No, yes, perhaps, I don’t know, I just can’t help it. I look at you and feel my body soften, I want to touch you...May I?"

        At that point, at the heat of my enthusiasm, I closed my eyes and reached forward, forgetting about my digital memory, and tried to run my index finger over her rosy chin. But I felt nothing. I opened my eyes. She had disappeared. It must be as she said: love is everywhere, appears and disappears without previous notice.

0 comentarios