Blogia
Buenos Aires Jaque Press, en inglés y español

What's in a name?

"Good morning! I would like to speak to Prapawdee Jaroenrattanatarakoonon."

"Sorry, could you repeat that?"

"It isn’t too easy to pronounce."

"Well you’ve got to give me something to go on. All I can make out is a bunch of consonants with a handful of vowels, but if that’s a name it must be the longest in history"

"I don’t know about that, but she has just lifted 126 pounds and that’s a lot but probably not the record. Anyway, her name is long but not heavy. Jaroenrattanatarakoonon won first place for the category of up to 53 kilograms in the Olympic Games in China."

"That 'sher! That’s the person I want to talk to!"

"Sorry, she is helping a friend take her bags to the hotel room."

"Oh. Well, I’ll call back later...Ah...How do you pronounce her name?"

"Just as it is written."

"That’s my problem. Ah...doesn’t she have a nick name?"

"I’ll ask her and then call you back."

"Thanks a million! By the way, my name is John."

"Just John?"

"John Jones."

"Short and sweet."

"Yea. But I didn’t choose it. They give you names and you have to live with them the rest of your life."

"True."

 

0 comentarios